John Muir Trail Departure Two Day Away!

Pathetic Emotions: It seems a trend with me, departure looms and I become this

Dreaming of JMT!

Dreaming of JMT!

crazed mixed bag of conflicting emotions. As the date closes in I feel calmer, more sure of myself that I’m up to the challenge at hand. Yet, I also experience something close to melancholy, closer to tears, feeling a little lost, wanting to bundle up in my bed and hide out for a bit. I think it is the realization that once again I’m leaving my home, family and friends to take on another solo trek. The walking away can oddly be addictive and sad at the same time.

OK, so much for the “poor Bobbie” going to hike the JMT don’t we all feel so sorry for her!

Backpack: Pack almost ready, weighing in this morning at 30pd minus water, misc. gear

JMT Backpack

JMT Backpack

and my tech stuff. Thinking I will come in around 38pd top weight. Almost nothing besides sleep gear and the damn Bear canister and food.

Description of John Muir Trail: The best kind of friend is someone who has know you since childhood and still cares about you despite all of the baggage!  My friend Chip Williams sent the below description of the JMT to me this morning via Facebook.

The John Muir Trail passes through what many backpackers say is the finest mountain scenery in the United States. This is a land of 13,000-foot and 14,000-foot peaks, of lakes in the thousands, and of canyons and granite cliffs. The John Muir Trail is also a land blessed with the mildest, sunniest climate of any major mountain range in the world.

On the way toward Rush Creek, Ansel Adams Wilderness

On the way toward Rush Creek, Ansel Adams Wilderness

The trail is 211 miles long and runs (mostly in conjunction with the PCT) from Yosemite Valley to Mt Whitney, in California. Winding through the famed Sierra Nevada, the JMT visits some of the crown jewels of America’s park system: Yosemite, John Muir and Ansel Adams Wildernesses, Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Parks. The John Muir Trail section of the Pacific Crest Trail will mark you forever. And now one of our crown jewels (Bobbie Surber) is going to conquer it. Live Fast Live Hard Live on.

Communication: I will be sending my InReach text number to those who are interested and will send occasional text with a map that you can go on-line and view exactly where I am on the trail. Will also post this info on my Facebook so look me up Bobbie Surber in Sedona, AZ.

Photo Above: Hope you Caminoist noted my shell is still with me!

More to follow!

Bobbie

About Bobbie Surber - My Camino de Santiago

My life is full of blessings but also running at a crazy pace with career, family, more committees and boards than any one sensible person should be involved with at one time. So what to do? Well. My choice. Slow down, take a sabbatical (sounds so much better than quit my job) and walk the Camino de Santiago. Hope to find that sweet spot again, explore what is next and find out what my spirit is longing for (sounds so Sedona, embarrassing!) So follow along or not and we will all find out how my mid-life crisis unfolds! Update: Turns out the Camino is a bit addictive :) Visit my blog at: https://bobbiesurber.wordpress.com/ to read about my adventures on the Caminos. What’s next? We will see! In the meantime sure am enjoying my life each and every day.
This entry was posted in Camino de Santiago and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to John Muir Trail Departure Two Day Away!

  1. nildarcook says:

    I am green with envy! Please put me on your list to keep me informed of your progress. I will be thinking of you as I do my measly 5 miles a day and send prayers your way for a ‘kick-ass’ adventure!! I know you will make it another trip to remember. Each day will be another opportunity to know the stuff you are made of and celebrate yourself!! I am with you in spirit!! Vaya con Dios!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I will be feeling your every step! Wonderful journey wishes! See you soon !

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Bobbie Surber - My Camino de Santiago says:

    Al and Nilda – Thank you for all of your support! So excited! I will add you to the list of updates.

    Like

  4. Lyndella says:

    Hi Bobbie,

    My name is Lyndells, and I just found your blog site and stories of your travels. I am SIRIOUSLY EXCITED for you and your newest adventure.

    My husband and I live in Alaska (12 years now) but prior to that… this portion of the Sierras was our backyard. We treasure every memory created in this truely special place.

    You will have your work cut out for you but I promise the reward is beyond discription !
    I have often wished for a “Buen Camino” type salutation to folks like you, at times like this.
    So…”Happy Trails” to you will have to do for now.
    I look forward to following along the JMT with you and reading your Camino entries as well. Sounds like I have my work cut out for me too
    😉

    Enjoy today and smile as often as possible !

    From Alaska,
    Lyndella

    Like

    • Bobbie Surber - My Camino de Santiago says:

      Hi Lyndella,

      What a lovely post! Thank you! I am so excited, nervous and know this will be the most challenging adventure to date. Happy Trails and Buen Camino same salutation as both are simply stating good trail, good way! 🙂

      Like

  5. Sounds soooo exciting! Good luck on the trail and look forward to learning all about it. Buen Camino

    Like

  6. susieant says:

    Bobbie, first of all I can understand exactly how you feel about the mental challenges you are going through the last few months have been like that for me in preparing for Mt. Whitney although I am only doing one day. You are ready for this. I am sure you are over prepared which is a great thing. You will be meeting others on the trail so you will not be alone all the time. Maybe never who knows. Yes I noticed your shell. 🙂 Are you doing the whole 211 miles? I did a piece of the JMT last weekend while visiting Mammoth for a short trip. It is awesome. Enjoy your trip and I will be thinking of you often. Happy JMT trails. NOTE: I’ll be in the Sierras next week through Sunday near Rock Creek. Hiking Whitney on August 9.

    Like

Love to get your feedback and comments!