Villlaviciosa to Gijon 6/23/13

What a wonderful treat to arrive in Villlaviciosa and discover Carlos Hotel. The rooms were only 30€ so shared it was the cost of a noisy Hostel. An old Victorian home with a full modern bathroom! Proper shower (check) Very hairy legs shaved (check) Clean hair (check) ready to go out on the town!

We spent the evening with a girl from Madrid, my roommate for the night, a lovely doctor from the UK on a bit of a sabbatical and Raul a police officer from Madrid. We started out with the famous Cider of  northern Spain. I now know the proper way to serve and drink hard cider. One must pour the drink holding the bottle as high up as possible pouring only a few ounces in the glass. You drink the cider like a shot, not as I had been doing… sipping the drink like a beer or wine. We then went to a local restaurant with the promise from Raul that we were about to have an authentic Spanish meal with locals. We ordered the menu of the day, a four course dinner with wine. The food was fantastic and hands down the best meal I have ever had in Spain. So a late night for us as the Spanish eat very late, no earlier than 9pm.

We slept in this morning and now the debate of walking 31k or taking a bus to Gijon. Also thinking of moving to the Primitivo route for a few days and visit Oviedo as I’m told this is a must see destination.

Today I say goodbye again to the friends I have just met as they return to their lives in the real world 🙂 so I will let you know where I land tonight.

Buen Camino!
Bobbie

20130623-090028.jpg

20130623-090036.jpg

20130623-090044.jpg

20130623-090049.jpg

About Bobbie Surber - My Camino de Santiago

My life is full of blessings but also running at a crazy pace with career, family, more committees and boards than any one sensible person should be involved with at one time. So what to do? Well. My choice. Slow down, take a sabbatical (sounds so much better than quit my job) and walk the Camino de Santiago. Hope to find that sweet spot again, explore what is next and find out what my spirit is longing for (sounds so Sedona, embarrassing!) So follow along or not and we will all find out how my mid-life crisis unfolds! Update: Turns out the Camino is a bit addictive :) Visit my blog at: https://bobbiesurber.wordpress.com/ to read about my adventures on the Caminos. What’s next? We will see! In the meantime sure am enjoying my life each and every day.
This entry was posted in blog+Camino del Norte, Bobbie Surber, Buen Camino, Camino de Santiago, Camino del Norte, Camino del Norte Blog, Norte+blog and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Villlaviciosa to Gijon 6/23/13

  1. nildarcook says:

    Yes! Sounds like a fabulous day! Hoping for more of the same for you. Today is my B-Day and I am hiking around Bell Rock and Mike is treating me very well. Today I am 64 but I think starting next year I am going to forget how old I am and stop counting 🙂 Buen Camino!!

    Like

  2. Linda says:

    Hi Bobbie, the people u r meeting look just lovely! Feet seem to be doing very well. Dan and we had a good meeting w habitat.
    U r carrying my prayers w u. XO

    Like

  3. Adnan says:

    When you will visit to Turkey? Time have you spent two years in Spain. Izmir to Istanbul Aydın Muğla waiting for you. Your daughter misses you.

    Like

Love to get your feedback and comments!