A day in Paradise! 6/28/13

I awoke last night to the roar of snoring and thought it was perhaps 5am an hour or so before sunrise. So as I lay in bed planing my day an hour seems to have passed, lucky for me I got up and checked the time. 3:ooam, whoops tried to sleep a bit, not much success then gave up on sleep and out of bed at 5:45. I decided to take advantage and get an early start to Tapia de Casariego. I had planned for this detour stop on my way to Ribadeo but as you will see by the photos I found the Norte of my dreams!

I had already added many miles to my day getting lost trying to follow the GR9 (Spain’s coastal foot trails) so by the time I arrived I knew I had walked about 30k for the day and felt I had earned a stop in paradise.  With the sun shining and the most incredible view of the ocean from by very humble Albergue, I knew I had truly found paradise!

If the staff member agrees I might sped a second night as the place is near empty. It not then tomorrow will find me back exploring GR9 with an end goal of Ribadeo at day’s end.

Ribadeo is the entry point of Galicia and a return to the mountain during my final phase to Santiago.

That’s it for today, by the way, I send this post sitting outside looking over the Marina close to 8pm with a bagpipe playing in the distant lighthouse. Oh it is an excellent Camino day !

20130628-194251.jpg

20130628-194259.jpg

20130628-194306.jpg

20130628-194312.jpg

20130628-194325.jpg

20130628-194334.jpg

20130628-194343.jpg

20130628-194349.jpg

20130628-194405.jpg

20130628-194411.jpg

About Bobbie Surber - My Camino de Santiago

My life is full of blessings but also running at a crazy pace with career, family, more committees and boards than any one sensible person should be involved with at one time. So what to do? Well. My choice. Slow down, take a sabbatical (sounds so much better than quit my job) and walk the Camino de Santiago. Hope to find that sweet spot again, explore what is next and find out what my spirit is longing for (sounds so Sedona, embarrassing!) So follow along or not and we will all find out how my mid-life crisis unfolds! Update: Turns out the Camino is a bit addictive :) Visit my blog at: https://bobbiesurber.wordpress.com/ to read about my adventures on the Caminos. What’s next? We will see! In the meantime sure am enjoying my life each and every day.
This entry was posted in blog+Camino del Norte, Bobbie Surber, Buen Camino, Camino de Santiago, Camino del Norte, Camino del Norte Blog and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A day in Paradise! 6/28/13

  1. The Rider says:

    Your blog is getting to be dangerously inspiring… now I really really want to do the Norte too!

    Like

Love to get your feedback and comments!