Hiking Bear Mountain Trail

20131029-093641.jpg

Yesterday found me out on the Bear Mountain Trail with a new friend I met during a Sedona Meet Up Hiking event Linda is from New Jersey and an avid outdoorswoman, hiker and yoga devotee. I sure enjoyed Linda’s company as we marveled at the views and shared about our lives, family and career paths.

I was also happy that the Bear Mountain Trail DID NOT kick me in the behind. A challenging hike with 1800 FT gain over the course of 3 levels of summits. Views along the way revealed stunning red rock slot canyons and an area that looked like a mini Grand Canyon. This is a steep trail with some rock scrambling. Pay attention to the trail as it is easy to get off track. recommend at least 2-litters of water, more on a hot day. Food, hat and walking poles very helpful.

Bear Mountain Trail: This is a difficult hike and you should be prepared with proper footwear, water and food

Trailhead DirectionsThe parking for the Bear Mountain hike shared with Doe Mountain hike. From the “Y” roundabout (the intersection of Highway 179 and Highway 89A), drive west on Highway 89A about 3 miles. Turn right on Dry Creek Road. Stay on Dry Creek Road about 3 miles to the end and a stop sign. Turn left on Boynton Pass Road and proceed about 1 1/2 miles to a stop sign. Turn left, continuing on Boynton Pass Road. The trailhead is the second trailhead on the left side, about 1 3/4 miles from the stop sign. The trailhead is across the road from the parking area

Description:  Bear Mountain provides fantastic red rock views. The start of the trail is at about 4600 feet at the parking lot. At the final summit the elevation is about 6150 feet. The total elevation gain to the top is some 1800 feet. From the top of Bear Mountain you can see the San Francisco Peaks in Flagstaff, views of Bell Rock in the Village of Oak Creek, Verde Valley, peaks of Sycamore Canyon as well as all of west Sedona.

A great website on this hike and many more please visit The Hike House

20131029-093659.jpg

20131029-093718.jpg

20131029-093741.jpg

20131029-093753.jpg

20131029-093809.jpg

20131029-093816.jpg

About Bobbie Surber - My Camino de Santiago

My life is full of blessings but also running at a crazy pace with career, family, more committees and boards than any one sensible person should be involved with at one time. So what to do? Well. My choice. Slow down, take a sabbatical (sounds so much better than quit my job) and walk the Camino de Santiago. Hope to find that sweet spot again, explore what is next and find out what my spirit is longing for (sounds so Sedona, embarrassing!) So follow along or not and we will all find out how my mid-life crisis unfolds! Update: Turns out the Camino is a bit addictive :) Visit my blog at: https://bobbiesurber.wordpress.com/ to read about my adventures on the Caminos. What’s next? We will see! In the meantime sure am enjoying my life each and every day.
This entry was posted in adventure, Arizona, Bobbie Surber, Hikes in Sedona, Sedona and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hiking Bear Mountain Trail

  1. nildarcook says:

    Wow Bobbie! these pictures are gorgeous and the hike looks amazing. Putting it on my list of must do!

    Like

    • Bobbie Surber - My Camino de Santiago says:

      Thank you dear Nilda for such a lovely lunch and reminiscing about our Camino adventures! I hope I get to hike Bear Mountain with you as well as many more hikes.

      Like

  2. Linda says:

    Well done, Bobbie! And you still look adorable after climbing 1800 feet. Please get the two Linda’s in your hiking life mixed up. I would like to be confused with the oh-so-capable Linda. XOX

    Like

    • Bobbie Surber - My Camino de Santiago says:

      My Dear Linda, You ARE the one and only, so very capable and amazing hiking buddy and friend! 🙂

      Like

  3. susieant says:

    Beautiful views. Nice elevation gain. Great workout for what’s coming next year…

    Like

Love to get your feedback and comments!