Video by Paulo Coelho, Author of The Pilgrimage

Sign posted along the Chemin Vezelay

Sign posted along the Chemin Vezelay

This is a lovely video by Paulo Coelho about the Camino de Santiago. If you have not read any of his novels I do highly recommend The Pilgrimage, Coelho’s first book.

From Amazon: Step inside this captivating account of Paulo Coehlo’s pilgrimage along the road to Santiago. This fascinating parable explores the need to find one’s own path. In the end, we discover that the extraordinary is always found in the ordinary and simple ways of everyday people. Part adventure story, part guide to self-discovery, this compelling tale delivers the perfect combination of enchantment and insight.

About Bobbie Surber - My Camino de Santiago

My life is full of blessings but also running at a crazy pace with career, family, more committees and boards than any one sensible person should be involved with at one time. So what to do? Well. My choice. Slow down, take a sabbatical (sounds so much better than quit my job) and walk the Camino de Santiago. Hope to find that sweet spot again, explore what is next and find out what my spirit is longing for (sounds so Sedona, embarrassing!) So follow along or not and we will all find out how my mid-life crisis unfolds! Update: Turns out the Camino is a bit addictive :) Visit my blog at: https://bobbiesurber.wordpress.com/ to read about my adventures on the Caminos. What’s next? We will see! In the meantime sure am enjoying my life each and every day.
This entry was posted in Bobbie Surber, Camino de Santiago, Camino Frances Blog, Northern Arizona Chapter of Americans on the Camino, Santiago de Compostela, Spain, St James's Way, the Way and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Video by Paulo Coelho, Author of The Pilgrimage

  1. nildarcook says:

    Bobbie, I so appreciate that you keep posting these wonderful reminders of what it means to be a pilgrim, whether it’s a video like this one or a book or blog or reflection it reminds me that I am still on the journey that I will forever be a peregino and that the journey never ends! I know you understand…

    Like

    • Bobbie Surber - My Camino de Santiago says:

      Yes I do! And each time I’m with you reminded what a gift the Camino has been in both of our lives. 🙂

      Like

      • nildarcook says:

        While sometimes I remember very specific revelations and “aha moments” for the most part the camino has given me a new ‘freedom’ for living life, a less fearful attitude and greater gratitude! The mystery remains? How could a simple walk across a countryside chance me so? Tho’ the fact still remains there is more camino ahead…it’s all a gift! Gracias Amiga!

        Like

  2. nildarcook says:

    I ran across this quote tonight from the pilgrim’s museum in Santo Domingo de la Calzada:
    “There are no journeys without side trails, branches, crossroads, and encounters with dung on the path, both in life and in emotions. Without openness, without curiosity, without the capacity for surprise, there is no pilgrim. This is the glory of the journey and the motivation of the pilgrim.”

    Thought you would like it!

    Like

    • Bobbie Surber - My Camino de Santiago says:

      I love this quote! At first I thought of the many side trails I have taken the last few years. Some paths lead me to delightful gifts of friendship, moments of spiritual awakening, and an acceptance of my own being while other paths were just full of Cow dung and mud! 🙂 Thank you for sharing.

      Like

  3. Susie Flores says:

    Hey you two. This was a great video. I can’t believe I am still wishing I was back there. It is such a feeling I want to relive over and over. The thing is that if I want back the journey would be totally different. I will have to be happy with the new journeys I will have daily, weekly, monthly or yearly with my friends and family and new people I meet along the way. I am still getting reaffirmations that God is still walking with me every day. I just love that. Take care.

    Like

    • Bobbie Surber - My Camino de Santiago says:

      Susie, so well said and so great that each day is still the camino for you! Wonderful that you are experiencing new trail, new people and planning your next adventure. I feel the same, God is and always has been at our side.

      Like

Love to get your feedback and comments!